Have Your Cake AND Eat It Too Seamless Virtualization


I wish I would have known about Seamless Virtualization sooner in my “Linux Career” as I’d be the biggest fanboy for Seamless Virtualization of all lol.

The other day (maybe about a week ago) I installed Virtualbox-OSE because I was going to start modding my own knoppix distro to imitate Back|Track and DamnVulnerableLinux but have it based on the very lightweight (and yet still Debian Based) Knoppix Distro. I won’t go off into a big rant about it but I’m pretty mad that BT4 is based on Ubuntu even though I’m a faithful *buntu user.

Anyway on to Seamless Virtualization which I think is best described as having your cake and eating it too. If you’ve ever wanted (or needed) to be a Linux user but didn’t want to give up photoshop or some other application that didn’t play nicely with WINE this article is for you!

Well on my Eee Pc 1000H I only have 1GB of RAM (need to cough up the money to max it out at 2GB) but figured that QEMU would play nicely with that ammount of RAM. I was talking with a friend over the phone — who’s first OS was surprisingly Ubuntu and so she frequently asks for Windows help as her dad decided to make the switch to Windows on the home computer — and she brought up the fact that she used to always just use Virtualbox. A quick search of the repo’s with aptitude and I was glad that it was already in the repo’s and was glad because I’ve been having a streak of software I’ve been wanting to try out that I end up having to compile and install myself that just hasn’t been working the way it is supposed to and was not looking forward to another headache.

I finally booted up the VM and started poking around in the menu’s and noticed that it had something called “Seamless Mode”. It was grey’d out so I ran a google search and came across a Linux Haxor article on the matter. After following the tutorial I was running Windows seamlessly with Ubuntu and became a huge fan of Seamless Virtualization.

So why does this matter?

Personally I think that people give up on Linux too soon because they wish they could use their old programs on the *nix box and WINE just isn’t running their program. With Seamless Virtualization whenever you need to use that “must-have” Windows program you could switch over to a different workspace and have your VM running there, open up that program, and when you’re done, bam, right back into Linux. With a strong enough machine I’m sure you could even play some of the newer online games with a Seamless VM which would destroy the need to have that “I wish I could go to Linux but I love gaming too much” attitude.

There is obviously much more to come on Seamless Virtualization but I think that this is a major step in the right direction and I’ll keep running my Seamless VMs for years to come.

Share! Share

One Response

  1. A really interesting green computer technology I found is desktop virtualization. It’s where multiple people can use the same computer at the same time each with their own monitor, mouse and keyboard. This saves a lot of electricity and e-waste. A company called Userful recently set a virtualization world record by delivering over 350,000 virtual desktops to schools in Brazil. They have a free 2-user version for home use too. Check it out: userful.com

Leave a Reply

